Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
20,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm new to the 709 but after two fairly focused range sessions I'm loaded with Remington Ranger 147gr JHP. Needless to say I'm curious what others use for HD / SD ammo. I've never been a buck a pop shooter. You??!

·
Registered
20,085 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
Hornady looks like a great SD load too bad it's LEO. I had some trouble getting to the Speer - sounds like a winner as well. Can you write all ammo off taxes as UN-reimbursed business expenses. Pardon my snooping. I shoot a good bit and would love to have that option as a deduction or line item on my schedule C. As an artist that could be a stretch but the parameters of art continue to expand daily!!

·
Registered
10,439 Posts
Hornady looks like a great SD load too bad it's LEO. I had some trouble getting to the Speer - sounds like a winner as well. Can you write all ammo off taxes as UN-reimbursed business expenses. Pardon my snooping. I shoot a good bit and would love to have that option as a deduction or line item on my schedule C. As an artist that could be a stretch but the parameters of art continue to expand daily!!
MOST police supply stores sell ammo without asking for LEO ID. For about $12/box (small box), the Hornady short barrel load functions very well, and both the powder and bullet are optimized for a 3" barrel.

As far as deducting my practice ammo, that might be a stretch because when I go to the department range for training or to qualify, our ammo is provided. Most of the ammo that I buy is for use at the local gun club. As far as off-duty carry, i am not sure if it is worth the effort for such a small tax benefit and the risk of an audit.