Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
496 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Seen some posts about windoze problems here. A couple of things to help out
1. Back up
2. Always have a live Linux cd handy. If windows worn't boot drop in the cd. Boot from it you can get to all of your files and continue working until you get it fix. Unless it's a hardware problem then nothing will boot.
3. Use Download Hiren the cd has a linux + windoze boot option. Many tool virus cleaners, password recovery and so on.
4. Just ditch windowze. PClinuxOS, Ubuntu, Open-suse, Fedora, Debian, Mint are all top notch.

·
Registered
1,369 Posts
I worked as a UNIX admin after retiring from the Fed Govt for a few years and was pretty comfy with Linux. I cheaped out and bought a system with no O/S and installed Red Hat and the missus was highly annoyed as she had no interest in learning Linux. She complained until I partitioned the system and installed Windoze in the new partition. It was kind of a pain and the productivity software at the time wasn't nearly as good for the UNIX boxes as the Windoze; such as MS Office and tools of this nature. I suspect productivty software is stronger now since a lot of folks are running some form of UNIX.

·
Registered
4,451 Posts
+1 here2serve- thats good info.

I can vouch for Ubuntu, Mint,PCLinuxos,Open Suse, and Fedora. Debian is a little rough for me....I don't know how to use the command line-and do not want to learn. All those you mention for me are very easy- just point-n-click, no terminal work. If I can do it....any idiot can do it. I have been using one or another flavor of Linux for 3 years now- with no issues. My only problem is deciding which one I like best. All much easier than any windows os.

·
Super Moderator
17,636 Posts