Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the Taurus 1911 pistols (I have several of their revolvers though). My 1911 came with one 8rnd mag and I want to get a few more. Will anybodies mag work in the Taurus? If it will only take a Taurus factory mag where can I get these? and what would be a good price?
thanks

·
Registered
3,227 Posts
Any 1911 mag should work just fine, with how cheap they are for even the real good ones (I run Chip Mccormick 8 round power mags in mine, like them more then the factory mags infact.) I would highly recommend you pick up some Chip McCormicks or Mec-gars are great to.

·
Administrator
35,923 Posts
I have some $21 Kimber flat bottoms that work just fine in my PT1911.

·
Registered
30,114 Posts
Shooting Stars, are probably the least expensive of the Chip McCormick line. I have some and they're great magazines. :thumb:
I'm with Smoke, the Shooting stars are, in my opinion the best out there when you look at over all value (quality and price). They work great in my PT 1911! That being said, any magazine made to GI specs for a full size 1911 should work fine.

·
Registered
7,241 Posts
I really haven't found any, that didn't work!

Reactions: olfarhors

·
Registered
37,586 Posts
I have and use lets see, Taurus, Wilson ,Colt, metalform,Springfield( I don't know who makes thiers), ATI, para USA, and I am sure a few more if i pulled them out an looked.
actually the only troublesome magazines that i have ever had for the 1911 was Pro-Mags.

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
My PT1911 Duo-tone doesn't seem to be picky about what it eats or what it is served on. I have factory, Springer, Wilson, Chip McCormick and a bunch of $5.99 no name mags, all have been 100%. Wish I could say that about all my 1911s!

·
Registered
2,185 Posts
I use Wilson Combat and Taurus both seem to work just fine.

·
Registered
7,681 Posts