Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Banned
5,006 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Remember me complaining about Buddie Dog ruining my 1.5 year old Lenovo laptop? I took out the drive and stuck it in a case, and am using it as a backup for my new laptop. What should I do with the shell? You guys think it's worth fixing for resale?

·
Registered
16,283 Posts
What condition is it in?
Pics?
I was a computer tech for over 20 years.

·
Registered
436 Posts
Well you could either place 7 shots of .40 exploding HP's or Place it for sale on craigslist. Or even take it to have it looked at by a computer repair person ( might be a cheap fix )

·
Super Moderator
17,588 Posts

·
Registered
9,164 Posts
Look up the model number and price a new motherboard and processor combo for it. Ask yourself if you want to reinvest the money into it, and then decide whether to fix it or shoot it. If it's approaching anywhere near the $300 range, just shoot it and buy another laptop from Walmart for about $350. Or you can check around for a refurbished model, since it's a year and a half old they could possibly be found under $200.

·
Registered
1,504 Posts
What happened to it? Probably craigslist and if it doesn't sale then shoot it! Got a judge?

·
Registered
13,857 Posts
I take mine and do just that "Shoot It" with ususally around 25 rounds. It then gets thrown into one of my cattle watering tanks. For those of you who don't know what a farm/ranch tank is....it is what many folk simply call a pond or small lake. You would be surprised what kind of information that can be pulled out the a computers memory. And yes, even after it has been cleaned.

·
Registered
251 Posts
I'd shoot it too lol. I've got an old netbook I need to get rid of, come to think of it

·
Banned
5,006 Posts
Discussion Starter #12