Taurus Firearm Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey! I am a total noob but I have in my possession a Taurus model 84 nickel plated .38 Special revolver . I have had this gun in my sock drawer for about 30 years and never fired it. I think it is in good condition. I want to sell it because I want a smaller pistol for CCW . I want to purchase a ‘small’ .38 revolver. What can I expect to get for my Taurus 84?

·
Registered
2,216 Posts
In truth, not a lot. Revolvers are not popular right now. .38 is not a popular caliber. Revolvers too large for concealed carry....you see where I'm headed. Right now you're probably better off holding on to the gun and simply buying a concealed carry gun. If you care, Palmetto State Armory is selling the Smith and Wesson M&P Shield in 9mm for 249, plus shipping and transfer fees.

·
Banned
1,582 Posts
I have an 84. Mine's blued. It's a keeper.

·
Super Moderator
17,716 Posts
Somewhere in the neighborhood of $200. I gave $220 for one much newer than yours. If you can get $250 that would be top dollar.

·
Banned
1,582 Posts
I see M80s, M84s and old style M82s in local shops for $150-250. The last few years they've trended mostly into the sub-$200 range. If they're exceptionally fine, especially with the original box & papers, $250-300. If you're trading it in, most local shops offer low dollars (75-100) because they're slow movers and they don't really want them.

Seriously... it's a good revolver and you're far better off keeping it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Hey! I am a total noob but I have in my possession a Taurus model 84 nickel plated .38 Special revolver . I have had this gun in my sock drawer for about 30 years and never fired it. I think it is in good condition. I want to sell it because I want a smaller pistol for CCW . I want to purchase a ‘small’ .38 revolver. What can I expect to get for my Taurus 84?