Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am fairly new to pistol shooting and have a TH9C compact 9mm pistol. I would like to know from some of you experienced shooters what is considered being reasonably accurate with a 9mm compact pistol.

One forum post I read said form a standing position with 2 hand grip you should be able to maintsin a 2” group at 25 yards and a 4” group at 50 yards. I found that pretty discouraging as with aging eyes the sights tend to be be a bit of a blur and the short sight radius does not give you a lot to work with and I doubt I will ever be able to maintain a 2” group at 25 yards.

I currenty shoot a 3” group at 5 yards which I am OK with being new to pistol shooting. With traing and practice I might be able to get that down to a 1 1/4” group at 5 yards but doubt I can get much better than that.

I am not looking to be a marksman, just a decent shot.

From what I see at the range maintaing a 2” group at 25 yards would be the exception for the majoriy of shooters, but it is a public range and my guess is a lot of shooters there are occasional shooters at best.

Just want to set some Realistic expectaions for myself.

·
Registered
242 Posts
I don't know what others think but I'm comfortable shooting 1" - 1 1/2" groups at 7 yards with my 9mm Range Officer compact. This pistol may be able to shoot 2" groups at 25 yards but I'm not, and being a self defense pistol and not a target pistol it shoots perfectly fine for its intended purpose.

Sent from my SM-G900P using Tapatalk

·
Registered
164 Posts