Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 104 Posts

·
Registered
275 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been buying ammo at our walmart for several years now
and have never needed an ID, it's obvious that I'm of age.

Today, I went there for a few items and decided to pick up a couple
boxes of 9mm.
I was told that my ID was necessary to purchase.
It was pouring down rain and I left my ID in the truck,
all I took in with me was cash.
The guy behind the counter said he had to see my ID.

I grabbed my wife out of the clothes dept and had her come over
to the ammo counter to show him some ID.
He said "no way, we don't allow straw purchases". (This ticked me off)

So out in the rain I go to get my ID.
I showed him the ID and asked him what this was all about.
He said that our Walmart can only sell ammunition to Indiana
residents and any state that shares a border with Indiana.
I asked why because there's no law requiring Walmart to do that.
He said well, "we get alot of illegals in here trying to buy"
I asked him if I looked like an illegal.
He said "Walmart gets sued everyday"
This reply made no sense to me because he just glanced
at my driver's license, this in no way could be helpful or harmful
in a lawsuit.

After a healthy discussion about political party influences,
which we disagreed on, he told me I could write a letter
to Walmart if I disagreed with this policy.
I said that I will most likely send my message by no longer
spending my money there.

I apologized to him, knowing that he was just following Walmart rules.

Has anyone else run into this?
I understand the age restriction on handgun ammunition, but this
seems to be a little overboard.
Their policy also covers CO2 cartridges and several other items.

It also seems that Walmart no longer wants to be in the ammo sales
business now.
Our Walmart discontinued firearms last summer.

·
Registered
6,000 Posts