Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

Administrator
I've used WD-40 for 35+ years cleaning firearms and have never had any issue whatsoever. Be aware that it is a penetrating oil, so be very careful not to leave ANY in the chamber, magazine or any other place it will come into contact with ammunition. It's not the only thing I use though. Of my three poly guns I currently own it hasn't affected them at all. I worry more about some of the commercial gun cleaners and finish etc. just because of the awful smell. Makes one think, that can't be good.

My humble opinion only. :thumb:

Registered
WD-40 is a very good cleaner for the metal parts, but dont leave it on the blued parts. The intention for the company was for opening up really rusty parts and nuts. I have been using it for the last so many years and i have seen that the blueing on the shotguns getts dimmer if i leave WD-40 on and let it be on the barrel for couple of hours (only when there has been a very rough hunting day with a lot of water dirt and handling in hands). The best i have found is a mixture of four things.

1) Clean the gun with HOT BOILING water.. then get it to dry completely in sun or with your wife's HAIR DRYER. This does two things mainly, the hot water reduces the viscocity of the OILS in the gun and the running hot water takes away all the oil away as fast as you can blink. How ever this should be done by a person who can clean every nook of the weapon and can assemble and dissasemble completely.

2) leave a bit of WD-40 inside the barrel and put pieces of tissue paper on both the ends and leave it for good 20 minutes or so. Then thoroughly clean the inside with hot water.

3) clean the weapon with a mixture of 20 % of linseed oil 30 % of alcohol 50 % of diesel or any other derivative excepting petrol. Remove all the oil with a tissue paper. Do the same with insides of barrel.

4) buy Hoppes No 9 gun oil to lightly oil the moving portions of the gun.