Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Keep one magazine loaded or rotate mags every so often? I have found through many years of experience that one should rotate magazines around once every two weeks. Constant compression does not weaken the spring however daily rotation will due to the compression/decompression. Just take a paper clip for example; bend it once and it will not break--constantly bend it back and forth and it will snap eventually. (Not comparing the mag spring to a paper clip by any means; just using it as a visual) I would like to get some feedback from you on this topic. Thanks.

·
Registered
130 Posts
I have one mag full of 115 grain JHP 9mm and one full of 124 grain 9mm FMJ WWB I usually have one JHP chambered no matter what mag I have on me. The JHP seems to be a bit more accurate than the 124 FMJ so I trust it more, but if im feeling frisky I carry the 124.

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
My mags stay loaded unless I'm going to use them for practice. Then I usually (unless I decide to cycle my social ammo) unload the Corbon and load up the ball, reloading social ammo afterwards. I don't carry ball unless I forgot to bring more/extra social ammo with.

Occasionally I do take the mags apart to give them a good cleaning, just make sure you get them back together fight (watch the spring alignment).

Steelheart

·
Registered
111 Posts
+ 1 propellerhead, I dont ever unload my weapon and since I have prolly 20 mags for most of the pistols some are range and some are carry they get dated and after so many years they get relagated to range use only.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Waitaminute - I don't get it. I have 5 mags total - are you guys saying that you should only keep 1 loaded and the other 4 unloaded until you're ready to use them? And then switch out the loaded one once every 2 weeks?

·
Registered
10,043 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·