Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Super Moderator
37,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
With the discussion of drop in triggers for the AR type guns, I was reminded of the shade tree modifications found on YouTube which involve clipping springs and/or bending them slightly, bobbing hammers to lighten them and so on.

Has anybody done this in lieu of buying the drop in or the really pricey two stage triggers. Yes they have their place for serious competition shooting or fine tuning to gain the best possible accuracy, but thinking of the person on a tight budget.

I am going to sticky this thread so that we can contribute tips and tweaks to the AR platform that go above and beyond the fire control group.

Reactions: william

·
Registered
3,972 Posts
How old does a thread have to be before its a zombie? Haha

I have never used a drop in before but I have a "enhanced mil spec" trigger in one. So its just been polished a little. Then I pair it with the joe bob adjustment screw. It breaks clean. I really like it. It has standard springs because its on a 7.62 and I wanted to not chance light hammer strikes.

I just put lighter springs and the screw on another build. Im gonna attempt the "paracord* polish job" on it. I have 2 more mil spec triggers if I mess it up. 👍

Creek

Edit for typo*

·
Banned
77 Posts
Sear stones and a jig does wonders for a standard
out of the box trigger group.

·
Super Moderator
37,002 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
The last complete lower I bought was a pistol version from PSA. I paid an extra 30 bucks or so for the "enhanced" trigger which I figure is just a polishing of a MilSpec parts group. It is an improvement over stock parts. Now I'm trying to figure out if I'm going to keep the whole rig. PS...after the changeover, there have been some REAL zombie threads...this one is less than a year old.

·
Registered
3,972 Posts