Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I would like to hear from anyone who has used or has experience with trench sights on auto pistols (similar to the one pictured on Colt's New Agent). Please give negative and positives. Also, please give advise on the best way to utilize them when shooting. I need to know this as I have never used them before, but a couple of pistols that have a good possibility for a future purchase use this kind of sighting system....

·
Premium Member
16,955 Posts
Yup I've shot the Colt, at 7 yards. I can hold a group of about 4" with my buddy's pistol although he can do better. They seem OK for a CC pistol but nothing much to punch targets at the range....
1.1 USA.gif

·
Premium Member
14,139 Posts
I think trench sights or no sights are just fine for pocket sized guns. I tend to look over the top of the slide at 3 to 5 yards anyway when doing rapid fire practice with my carry guns. I really don't pick up the sights in guns like that unless I'm trying to shoot farther distances.

For night use a tritium front dot would help with finding the nose of the gun, though.

·
Registered
9,191 Posts
It's like looking down the sights of my P-64, there isn't much to work with outside of close range.

·
Registered
1,102 Posts
Glad you asked as I am considering the Colt New Agent. Thought that maybe the trench sight combined with an in the grip laser might give the best of both worlds. Point and shoot at belly gun range and the laser if you need accuracy further out.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Another thing to consider (unless it is a small pocket gun) with rear sights is the added feature of being able to use those sights for one handed chambering against your belt or other hard object.

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
Discussion Starter #7