Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Banned
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I'd post this question to the knowledgable folks here. I am a Washington resident going to Oregon tomorrow. I have a WA CPL but Oregon does not recognize my permit, and I know as a "border state" I can get a temporary permit but I don't want to pay for it. Oregon does allow open carry (I'm going to the Eastern part of the state so I don't need to worry about the no carry cities) but I was curious, if I have my gun clearly visible in the BACKSEAT of my car, will I be ok? Normally I just pull it out of concealment as I cross the border and set it on my front seat, but my wife will be with me so I can't do that.

The glove box would be my preferred method, but I don't think I can do that either. Thanks for the help!

·
Registered
929 Posts
AT least you won't have to get out of your car to fill up at the gas station. The "Gas Station ENGINEER" is required to pump the gas for you. I hated that when I drove into Oregon. It is funny to hear about the people born and raised in Oregon that don't know how to pump their own gas.

Sorry I de-railed you question. Check with Handgunlaw.us.

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
I can't give you the laws of OR but since I just came back from there I can give you general tips about the state.

1 It's illegal to pump your own gas anywhere in the state. It was a shocker for me too. But after an older gent explained it to me I kinda like it. It provides jobs to older people who cannot find other work. And it didn't affect the price. It was about $3.50 vs CA at just over $.00 a gallon.

2 There aren't many roads in the state. I'm serious! Two interstates and the rest are state roads. If you are traveling from city A to city B, there will be only one road to get there.