Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is kind of a review of my new (to me) M44C that I acquired last Friday. Went to a gun show Saturday to get some ammo and hit the range later that afternoon where I fired the Kansas Concealed Carry qualification course with it using PMC 180 grain JHP ammo The course consists of 25 rounds in 5 strings. String 1: 5 rounds at 3 yards one handed. String 2 and 3: 10 rounds at 7 yards freestyle and finally strings 4 and 5: 10 rounds at 10 yards freestyle. To qualify you must get 18 of the 25 rounds inside the silhouette of an FBI "Q" or TQ-15 target. Any time I get a new gun that I'm even remotely considering carrying I run it through the course. I'm an instructor, so I need to make sure I can prove my qual with any gun I own just to keep my students happy. The recoil with the 4" is typically quite sharp, but with the ported barrel, the muzzle flip and torque is kept to a minimum. That helps getting back on target after each shot much more quickly. At my age, 25 full house rounds in less than 10 minutes was about all I really wanted to shoot in one session.

As expensive as commercial .44 mag ammo is, I wanted some cheaper plinking rounds for it. Remembering my fun with IMR Trail Boss powder for light, cast lead bullet loads in my high powered rifles, I thought I'd give it a try in the .44. Lee's latest reloading manual actually has Trail Boss loads for the 200 grain cast lead bullets I bought at the gun show so rather than use the formula from Hodgdon's book to make up my own, I used theirs. They claim a starting load of 6.1 grains of TB and a MAX of 7.7 so I loaded up 50 rounds with 6.5 grains of Trail Boss this morning and took 'em to the range.