Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,

I bought a new 605 today after reading a bunch of posts on this forum and others over the past few days. It's my first gun and it's brand new. I've shot friends' guns before, but this is my first.

A few questions:

1. What should I do prior to shooting this thing? Any cleaning or oiling of parts?
2. What ammo do you suggest I run through it first?
3. Any general maintenance tips?

Thanks in advance. I'm sure these are stupid questions but I'm a noob.

-Kyle

·
Registered
5,348 Posts
No such thing as a stupid question my friend. Certainly give it a cleaning before you use it for the first time. Just make sure to follow the steps shown in the owner's manual (see below). But make sure not to over lubricate it after cleaning -- especially the bore.

As far as ammo goes, you will hear lots of answers. Pick up a couple of boxes of .38 spl ammo, and a couple of boxes of .357 magnum ammo. Your 605 will shoot both. The .38 has less power, and is a better practice round than the .357. Also, firing both rounds will show you what you can handle as you learn about the shooting sports and your firearm. I would use something like a 125 gr bullet in both calibers to start out with. Heavy bullets (e.g. 158 gr) usually have a little more punch.

From the Taurus revolver manual:

CARE AND MAINTENANCE
A. The gun may be cleaned and lubricated under normal conditions without the need
of any disassembly.

B. In special conditions, such as repairs, when disassembling is necessary, it is
recommended the gun be returned to the factory or sent to a competent gunsmith or to
the importer.

C. In order to keep a gun in perfect condition it must be kept clean and covered with a
slight film of good quality oil to prevent corrosion. This is especially necessary after
use.

D. For normal cleaning of handgun not used or kept in storage for some time, it is