Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have tried over years to win my wife over to my sport of shooting. Small hands, had carpel tunnel surgery so also weak hands. Tried a revolver, too hard to pull the hammer back and double action also too hard to pull. would like some help from the forum. One thought I had: Since I reload, could I put a weak spring in a TCP, reload a weak 380 cartridge, and have a good size caliber easy to shoot.
Please advise.

"What you cain'duck, embrace" Idaho Cowboy wisdom

·
Registered
3,908 Posts
All good plans except the weak spring might be troubling. I'm no expert and others will chime in but that might not be the best idea. My wife has no health issues but is very small, has tiny hands and a weak grip. She is also very recoil shy. After a lot of research and testing she is happy with her LCP Custom. The custom has a better trigger pull than the LCP but I think the same as the LCP2. It's a very small pistol. You might consider that line as an option.

lcp.jpg

·
Banned
1,582 Posts
Cycling the slide on a 738 might be the biggest issue with small, weak hands. My wife's hands are neither, yet she has difficulties wit mine.

·
Registered
2,588 Posts
I'd sooner have a .22 than a downloaded .380. Several come to mind, all Berettas. The Model 86, out of print in this country, has moderate recoil and a tip-up barrel, like the Taurus PT22. Hard to find and spendy. The Beretta 87 is similar but without a tip up barrel, but the spring makes it easier to operate. There is also a 32 caliber version, slighly more bang, little more recoil. Also expensive. The Beretta 21 is a much smaller pocket pistol. It comes in .22 and .25. It has a tip-up barrel. Last the Beretta Tomcat, also a tip up barrel, also fairly small, in .32.

Shot placement is far more important than caliber.