Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Banned
655 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello all, I finally got to take my new Tracker .44 mag out to the range today and all in all it was SUPER fun!:) I figured I'd give everyone a rundown.

I picked up some Remington UMC 180 grain JSP ammo from Walmart for $38. I know it's a pretty light .44 mag load but I was mainly concerned with cost and for 50 rounds that's a pretty decent deal.

This was my first time shooting .44 mag (I am a .357 kinda guy) and it sure packed a punch! The porting on the Tracker I'm sure helped tremendously and the muzzle flash was ENORMOUS! I actually got kind of a crowd watching me since the gun was so loud and whatnot!

The gun seemed rather accurate (see the photo)

IMG_1831.jpg

I'm not the best shot out there but again this is my first attempt at .44. The target was place about 15 yards out.

I noticed as the pistol warmed up, one of the cylinders shot surprisingly low left and it was a little concerning. Upon inspection I noticed there are some deep grooves on the back of the cylinder primarily on the ejector and I'm curious if this A.) normal and B.) a cause of the low left shot (see photo)?

IMG_1832.jpg

Aside from that the front sight tape blew clean off after about 10 rounds (I've heard this happens) I will probably replace it and cover it with a little clear fingernail polish as to prevent that in the future. Additionally, before it goes out again, I will need to put Hogue grips on it. My middle finger took quite a beating!

IMG_1833.jpg

So again I was very pleased with the performance of the revolver, I got many comments from other shooters about the gun and I had a really great time. I sure hope those little grooves on the cylinder are a normal thing :eek:!! Anyway if any of you have any additional questions let me know and I'll do my best to reply!

·
Registered
398 Posts