Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have shot 278 rounds through my G3 and the slide locked open. I have removed the magazine and reloaded and also Inserted an empty magazine to no avail.

Any suggestions on how to fix this problem?

·
Premium Member
4,165 Posts
Sorry, I can't be of any help, but those who know about these things will hopefully be along shortly.

I'm guessing they'll ask for more pictures and a detailed explanation of what happened and when. I would want to see the other side. Is the slide lock stuck and won't go back in to position, or is the slide not moving even when the slide lock is pushed down?

·
Registered
590 Posts
A picture of the left side of the pistol would be helpful. I assume you are using a Taurus Mag and not an aftermarket mag?

It may be the angle of the picture, and I am not an expert, but to me the slide appears to be farther to the rear than needed to reload? I also don't see the Disassembly latch sticking up from the channel in your picture. Could one side or the other be depressed? I also don't see the recoil spring assembly which would normally protrude above the frame when the slide is locked back. Again it could be the angle of the picture.

To release the slide Taurus recommends pulling the slide to the rear and releasing the slide to go into battery. If you are trying to use the Slide Release or what Taurus calls the Slide Catch to release the slide they do not recommend it. HTH.

Reactions: brojohn

·
Premium Member
11,062 Posts
Don't see a take down latch, could it have slipped sideways into the slide assembly locking it up? Pictures of the other side of the pistol and an overhead shot would be nice.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I think we'd need more pictures. At least of the left side of the gun (as mentioned previously, and another into the ejection port, so maybe some of the internals would be visible.