Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just bought a new Taurus 92 and was shooting it yesterday. Using WWB and Independence ammo it was shooting low and to the left.
The owners manual states that it is set up to shoot 124 grain bullets and I think I read that they are somewhat ammo sensitive.
Are there adjustable sights available for the 92? Can a person get sights from Taurus (from a 99)and install them?

Dwayne

·
Registered
4,084 Posts
I bought my PT 92 last January. It did the same thing, about 8 inches low and a little to the left. I hung in there and just shot it. I put a Laserlyte on it and zeroed it in with the laser. After a while, I notced that the P.O.A./P.O.I. was moving. I took the laser off. Anyway after about a 400-500 round break-in, the gun seemed to settle in. It now shots true to the sights.
As far as the left of center, it was probably me. I'm new to autopistols, this being my first one, and low and left seems to be common with getting used to a new gun. I guess it had to break me in, too.
I, too considered an adjustable sight at first,but decided to wait and see. There are aftermarket sights available. Here are some from Midway: http://www.midwayusa.com/ebrowse.exe/browse?TabID=9&Categoryid=10407&categorystring=10636***10560***

·
Administrator
18,039 Posts
Before you go messing with the sights of any handgun, work on your shooting technique first! It may be just the way you are shooting it. I use a "dead on" sight hold on all my handguns and they all shoot to POA! I had a link to a informational target for "Group Therapy", but it's host is not operational at this time. I may wind up looking for a new pic host, as my current one is proving unreliable!