Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
252 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to firearms and am slowly learning the laws regarding owning and carrying a firearm. I had a friend tell before I got my gun to go get my ccw permit. He also said that when someone is ccw they must be ready to use it at any given time to protect themselves or others. Well I found out the Va is not a stand your ground state which leads me to believe that you cannot just whip your gun out and defend yourself. Is this true what are the laws if your state is not a stand your ground state or am I looking at this wrong?

·
Registered
12,331 Posts
A CCW does one thing - it gives you the right to carry a concealed handgun legally. Period. Anything else is covered by laws already in place - be they stand your ground laws, or self defense laws. You'll have to check your state laws, but that should also be a part of CCW training. The only responsibility you get with a CCW, again depending on the state, might be a duty to retreat. You're not a mini-leo with a CCW. Just a citizen with a means to defend yourself.

·
Registered
3,430 Posts
Each state is different.
In Ohio you are supposed to be in retreat. At least that's what our instructor said.
In our homes I think we can stand our ground.
But the instructor said if the bad guy bursts in and says 'I'm taking your TV!' you must let him because he is not threating your life.
He also said if you fire your weapon you must be prepared to foot the legal bills right or wrong. You will need a lawyer.

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
Most states that don't have stand your ground type laws require you to make every possible attempt to remove yourself from the situation before deadly force can be used. There will be differences in the self defense laws of various states. Even among those that do have stand your ground type laws.

Here's a link to a summary of Virginia's self defense laws.