Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Something to consider before you buy PT1911
This is just my third post so I’ll say a little about me first. I’ve been an active law enforcement officer, still working, for over 30 years and currently a firearms instructor and Beretta Armorer. So I do have some experience. I say this first because some posters of other PT1911’s with the same complaints, this site and other forums, question the posters skill, i.e. trigger control, grip, recoil anticipation, ammo used etc. I’ve read all the comments about break in period, changing your site placement etc. I am posting this for the individual considering the purchase of this gun. I’ve owned this PT1911DT for just four days and have already discovered some obvious problems. I guess my dissatisfaction is partly my fault because if I had researched this gun more before experiencing these problems I probably wouldn’t have purchased this gun. The two main issues I have with this gun are:
(1) These guns obviously have a tendency to shoot low and left of point of aim shooting with the six o’clock aim. I experienced this on my first trip to the range with it. I shot consistent tight groups at seven o’clock. It was so far off I was shocked. A Google search will turn up numerous complaints with the same low and left shot placement as I’ve experienced.
(2) Unlike other 1911’s, the Taurus PT1911 does not have available after market elevation adjustable sights, or factory elevation adjustable sights. The Novak sights that come with this gun are made by Taurus and the dove tail slots are unlike other 1911’s orNOVAKS for other 1911’s for that matter.