Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
161 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New member here and just appreciate the opportunity of being on this forum. A long time lurker and reader and decided with my few Taurus sixguns there was some historical info it would be nice to get. I have two early model 80's that were purchased in recent times. I have been collecting PD revolvers for many years and have always been enamored by the some of the features of the early Model 80 sixguns of Taurus. I have listed below some of these features to include a couple of facts that I would appreciate knowing if these facts are accurate or not.

1-The early Model 80 had these "linear serrations" that traversed the cylinder flutes and some more of the same on the topstrap and front sight. These are very expensive for a firearms company to put on a revolver. The high dollar old style S&W Model 27 comes to mind when viewing these serrations.

2-The hammer was humpback in shape like the old S&W Model of 1905 hammers were. Which were specifically made for single-action fire, I believe.

3-The blue-finish on my like-new older Model 80 is absolutely unbelievable! It is a deep rich-looking blue finish reminiscent of the old Colt Factory Blue Finish from yesteryear days.

4-I believe the Model 80 got out in 1971 and over the course of a 25+year period the Model 80 morphed into a much easier-to-manufacture revolver before termination in 1996.

5-The Model 80 has a fasinating history but has NEVER received the respect due because of "?"