Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
*I'm new to guns and forums both, please take it easy on me*
So, I just bought a pt111 millennium g2 as my first handgun and i think there may be an issue. I also think its possible that i just dont know as much as i thought i did about guns...
Every time i pull the slide all the way back, as if i was chambering a bullet, the slide lock button catches and locks it back. It is also extremely difficult to push the button down with my thumb to spring it forward.
Am I being dumb? Is the slide lock is supposed to catch everytime you pull it back? I know the slide lock button shouldnt be this hard to push down but im figuring that will get better as its used over time.
I hope my first gun i've ever purchased isnt defective, but i also hope that my first internet forum post isn't making a fool of myself as well.
LOL
Please aid me with your wise words...

·
Registered
361 Posts
If, while you're "pulling the slide back," you have an empty magazine in the gun, then yes it should do that.

EDIT: Guess I type slow - post above me done while I was doing the old "hunt 'n peck!" :)

Reactions: EdinGeorgia

·
Registered
1,478 Posts
The gun is designed so the slide stays rearward when the last round is fired and the magazine is empty. This makes for quicker reloading as you just push the mag release and slide a new mag in, then push she slide release down chambering another round and you're good to go. I've never tried to push the slide release button with an empty mag installed but it makes sense to me that it would be harder to release the slide. Play with it and see what happens

·
Registered
3,908 Posts
Don't be shy here. Lots of smart folks glad to help with all questions from rookie to expert. Welcome to the best gun Forum on the net!

·
Registered
14,790 Posts