Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Banned
48 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello, I am new to reloading, and before I start buying primers I would like to know if Winchester Large Pistol Primers #7 are what I should use. If not what is a good non-corrosive nickel plated primer?

I'll be reloading 45 Colt 220 grain solid monolithic copper bullets into Nickel plated brass, @ 900 fps. through a stock SS Taurus Judge Magnum, as my every day carry rounds.

Cost is of little concern to me, performance and reliability is what I am looking for.

·
Registered
37,206 Posts
the reloading data that you are following should include the type of primer needed, some powders require (or it recommended) to use Magnum primers but thats dependent on the powder type.
typically Winchester primers are listed as good regardless of the powder type if i remember correctly.

Reactions: PTDOUDE and jtg452

·
Registered
7,029 Posts
When in doubt, FOLLOW THE RECIPE IN THE MANUAL.

The loads published have been tested, using the components indicated, in a real ballistics lab utilizing equipment far beyond what all but a handful of reloaders have access to. Pressures listed were measured- not guesstimated from how 'flat' the primer looks- by equipment designed to take the measurement.

If it calls for Magnum primers, then use magnum primers. If it doesn't, then don't.

·
Registered
5,859 Posts
When in doubt, FOLLOW THE RECIPE IN THE MANUAL.

The loads published have been tested, using the components indicated, in a real ballistics lab utilizing equipment far beyond what all but a handful of reloaders have access to. Pressures listed were measured- not guesstimated from how 'flat' the primer looks- by equipment designed to take the measurement.

If it calls for Magnum primers, then use magnum primers. If it doesn't, then don't.