Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
4,530 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I don't reload a ton. I've been using the same Lee Loader (Whack a load) for several years. Every Spring, I'll buy 100 rounds of Federal, and shoot the same brass till Summers end. (Outdoor range) I load gently, so brass last. Now, however, I'm starting to want to load more calibers. .44 Spcl, and 9mm are about to be added to my reloading task, and that's a lot for a Lee Loader system. Initially, I was thinking of the Single stage, but the turret press isn't that much more. My reloading isn't going up as much as it may sound. Most of my range time is .22LR, which will not be reloaded. Still, a box of 50 .223 and a box of 50 handgun centerfires will go down range.

Thoughts
Lee Breach lock Reloader, or Lee Classic 4 hole turret?

Not concerned about speed. (I reload in stages it takes me a week, for a box of 50)
I've been using dippers, probably still will for a while.
I'll be reloading:
38spcl, 44spcl, 9mm, .223,

·
Registered
3,908 Posts
Well for many years I was happy with a single stage. I still am really but a friend sold me a used turret press so I'm easing my way into it. For the pace you are loading I would say a single stage would suit you very well. If you want to pick up some speed then the Lee Classic turret is an excellent choice. A single stage keeps thigns simple which I seem to like.

·
Registered
300 Posts
I purchased the Lee Classic and haven't regretted it. I still do some parts in single stage like depriming. You can just remove the rod that rotates the head. Then when I'm ready to load, I just put the road back. Set everything and starting loading like a fool.

·
Registered
18,376 Posts
I don't use Lee presses but it sounds like a single stage will suit you fine. Although from what I understand the turret can be operated as a single stage so there is a lot of flexibility there.