Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to handguns. I bought myself a taurus 709 took it to the range for the first time today. My front sight was turned to the left a little dont know if anybody elses is like that so I unscrewed the sight and made it straight. Starting shooting and kept shooting low right and made some chances to the sight and got off a couple arounds before my front sight came off. Does anyody know why it would be shooting low right? and what would be a good sight to replace it with?

·
Registered
29,918 Posts
Have a couple of experienced shooters shoot it from a bench rest.

If it shoots low and right for them, then consider sight adjustments.

Since you'r new to the sport, it's more likely that you're missing the basic of squeezing the trigger straight to the rear while maintaining proper sight alignment and sight picture.

Too much finger on the trigger will cause one to "pull" their shots low and right, as will "jerking" the trigger verses proper trigger squeeze.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
THanks for the info and the pictures. I found on you tube last where a guy used a tru glo shotgun sight for his front sight would this be a good idea or not?

·
Registered
36,474 Posts
Im new to handguns. I bought myself a taurus 709 took it to the range for the first time today. My front sight was turned to the left a little dont know if anybody elses is like that so I unscrewed the sight and made it straight. Starting shooting and kept shooting low right and made some chances to the sight and got off a couple arounds before my front sight came off. Does anyody know why it would be shooting low right? and what would be a good sight to replace it with?
ahh, ??
left handed are you???
the original Taurus sight would likely be best, call Taurus and tell them what happened and they will likely send you one.