Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I read that shooting low and left may be caused by too much finger on the trigger. Can anyone else elaborate on this? I got my PT740 a few months ago and have put about 250-300 rounds down range and, no matter what, its hitting low and left at 7 yards. I spent an hour at the range one day just trying to dial in the sights but I didn't seem to help at all. This is my first subcompact concealed carry firearm so i'm new to the fundamentals but I have no problem getting a tight shot grouping center mass with my glock23...Any suggestions?

Thanks

·
Registered
21,120 Posts
Ok, you're right it's too much finger in most instances. You don't want the trigger placed in the nook of the first joint this will cause you to pull low and left. You want to use the pad of your finger between the tip and the first joint.

·
Registered
21,120 Posts

·
Registered
3,940 Posts
Often caused by anticipation, practice squeezing the trigger. Try squeezing the trigger from a rest and see if its you or the gun.

·
Registered
21,120 Posts
Often caused by anticipation, practice squeezing the trigger. Try squeezing the trigger from a rest and see if its you or the gun.
Use some dummy rounds and mix them in with live rounds at the range; also a good way to see if you're flinching.

·
Registered
29,877 Posts
Try getting some snap caps and practice at home. Watch if the front sight dips to the left when you pull the trigger.

·
Registered
5,933 Posts
Good info here - I recommend doing the bench rest thing foremost, just to see where the POI is when lining up the sights.
The "pad of the finger only" rule is most valid; I had some low/left issues until I consciously addressed that as well.

Reactions: Wino

·
Registered
1,063 Posts