Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
76 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Say guys, my reloading equipment kit did not come with a scale. Can anyone make suggestions as to what kind of scale to get? Should it be digital? Will a postal scale work? I am not experienced in using scales that measure in grains. I am used to scales that weigh in hundreds and thousands of pounds! :D

·
Administrator
40,361 Posts
The common beam scales work well and are the least expensive. I have no experience with digital and a postal scale may only measure ounces and on up. :angel:

·
Administrator
18,273 Posts
My first scale, which I still have is an RCBS 505, and it is still a very good deal, for the money!

My current scale is a Pact Digital Powder Scale and I highly recommend it!

·
Registered
356 Posts
I got a lyman beam scale but i also bought a pocket digital scale on ebay just
to double check both work great

·
Super Moderator
35,435 Posts
A beam balance gets the job done. I got a battery powered single pan digital balance off ebay for around 25 bucks, fantastic, reads in grains if so set, and quite accurate. It came with a standard weight. I can tare this scale, dump a charge, then weigh it right in the case which is way cool. It's real handy. The brand on it is "NEVA". Check it out on ebay. Really, it's a nice little scale and didn't cost what the higher priced stuff does. I still have an old Pacific beam balance that's 50 years old, but still works.

·
Registered
384 Posts