Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
14,082 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Have an opportunity to pick up a Ruger SP101 Stainless 2 1/2" 357mag with maybe 100 rounds of 357mag and 150 rounds of 38spl run through it. Some minor scuffing from being carried in a "go bag".

Currently has Hogue rubber finger grips installed on it.

He is asking $450 for it. How does that price sound for this pistol. I'm kind of on the fence. I don't need one, but it is pretty. I could always sell my Taurus Poly 605 to cover part of the price since I'm not really a poly person. Which could be part of why the Poly Taurus 605 has never been fired least of all loaded. Heck it is still packed in that fine Taurus packing grease.

Anyhow how about some feedback. As Ross Perot was once reported to say "I'm all ears".

·
Registered
2,418 Posts
I'm no expert, but $450 used and scuffed up sounds like a lot. I could be wrong. Did you check gunbroker??

·
Super Moderator
20,004 Posts
Sounds like a fair price to me. Brand spanking new, their MSRP is in the $650-$699 range. Any reason given for the seller wanting to sell it? I would even ask for a range session with it prior to making a decision - if thats possible. You didn't mention if this was a transaction between 2 people or looking to purchase from a FFL dealer.

·
Registered
6,734 Posts
Not a horrible price, I would try to get it in the $400-425 area. They are great guns and have a lot of after market support in the way of springs, grips etc. The Wolffe spring kit really makes them shine in the trigger dept.

·
Moderator in Memorium 1940-2014
13,540 Posts
Recently sold mine - in pristine condition - for a bit more than I paid for it two years ago.
200 rounds of .38SP through it; no magnums ever. And I used a lot of elbow grease cleaning the burn marks off the front of the cylinder.