Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
New guns + range report.

1.I am a newbie with Taurus but not a newbie to firearms or range shooting.
2. (this should probably be first), I have not been to the range in almost a year. Inexcusable but probably, next to my first year in the Army, the busiest year of my life.
3. The guns right out of the box:
Taurus Poly 605
Taurus Tracker 992
4. Translating the targets (all shots taken at 15'): PLEASE START WITH SECOND TARGET. NO MATTER WHAT I DID, "MANAGE ATTACHMENTS WOULD NOT LET ME PUT THE FIRST ONE ON THE LEFT.
a. Middle target is the 992 .22LR -
b. Upper left is the 605 in 38.
c. Upper right is 992 .22MAG (WMR)
Now, range rules had me flip the target upside down so as not to graze the floor (the range is 75 feet long.
d. Upper left is my Sig 232 in .380 (the grouping in upper-middle-left was using MagSafe Personal Defense. Much more powerful than I remembered. The rest were range ammo.
e. Upper right is .22LR again.
Basic Review of 992 and 605:

The 992 in .22LR - I'm certainly rusty but I was more than pleased with the action and it was a dream to shoot. The all-metal heavy frame made it feel like a pea shooter. Where you aimed is where you hit. A big +1
The 992 in .22MAG. There certainly is a difference in firepower with a jump in the barrel followed by a flame! Took some getting used to after the .22LR. My biggest disappointment was that the cylinder locked/jambed consistently. Like every other round. I tried some quick maintenance but no luck. What I thought I noticed is that the cartridges drifted a little and maybe the rim of the cartridge was catching. Will work on it tomorrow, check the forum, etc. I have a bad feeling it will have to go back to Taurus. Two cylinders, one pistol might be asking too much. I would rate the .22LR a solid "A". I will hold on the .22MAG until I determine what the problem is.