Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a few hundred rounds loaded for my 9mm Taurus 24/7. I am having issues with jamming and the empty cartridges not kicking out. Has anyone ever used the IMR HI-SKOR 700-X powder to reload shells for this gun. Since I am still new to the reloading game I had my buddy help me do the loads and he is thinking that the powder does not burn fast enough for the pistol.

·
Registered
542 Posts
I've just started loading with 700-x for my OSS with 115 gr Precision Delta FMJ bullets. I have had no problems with jamming or fail to eject. I did have some problems with fail to fire but I think it was a gun problem, not the ammo. What load data did you use? I have found some conflicts in the limited data available. The IMR web site for a 115 gr GDHp (jacketed, I believe) has a starting load of 3.9 gr and a max load of 4.2 gr. The Lee manual (and data that came with the die set) has for a 115 gr jacketed bullet a starting load of 4.2 gr and a max load of 4.7 gr. I loaded with 4.2 gr (from the .57 cc hole in the Auto Disk), splitting the difference and saw no indication of overpressure.

If you search in the Reloading forum you will find other discussions of 700-x. You might also repeat this post there

·
Registered
54 Posts
700-X is very fast powder. Burn rate is not the cause of your FTE. Charge weight might be, but only if the charge is really light.

9mm pistols can be finicky about cartridge overall length (coal). Coal can affect the pressure profile.

Start with a load that is at or near the "starting load" for your powder and bullet.

Remember the basics: Speed is affected by bullet weight, charge, and barrel length. Trying to achieve max velocity from a heavier bullet from a shorter barrel will get you in trouble.