Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
173 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am by no means an expert when it comes to guns. I do however love to read and discuss many issues concerning the subject. One topic which has peeked my interest is the subject of "quality of gun vs user non-familiarity". This is often raised when talking mostly about 1911s. Some will say that for a certain amount of money spent, the gun should be flawless in fit, finish and performance. Others will say that the 1911 is somewhat of a tinker's gun. Basically needing refinement or upgrading in order to get the gun running within perfect operating parameters. With this being said, would the same hold true with other types of guns.

Let's take the Millennium Pro line and 24/7 for example. While these guns do not seem to have the vast upgradability available to the 1911. Taurus has offered refinements over the years. The first generation of MPs offered a desirable package at an affordable price. Then came the now famous frame cracking issue. Taurus rectifies that by releasing the second gen. Which to me was a very solid line. Then they take it a step further in the third gen. Was it needed, that really depends on who likes a straight DAO over SA/DA and 8-sights. 24/7 is getting a similar treatment by all the models that have come out over the years and keeps going with it's highly awaited OSS model. Honestly though, how much of the problems experienced with the MP and 24/7 are the gun makers inability to produce a quality firearm or the incompetence of the user? 50/50, who knows?