Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just bought a cheap 22lr plinker rifle. I have no knowledge of scopes at all. What would you recommend. Looking to go cheap.. Thanks

·
Registered
2,586 Posts
What brand of .22.... ;)

i have one on my 10/22, mine requires a scope base that you have to add..
My Norinco has the grooves for a scope in the gun itself,and my Marlin .22 mag has them on there also...
Scopes are pretty cool on .22s..
gives you good practice on sight picture if you hunt with a scope... :)
I am not sure of the name of the scope on my 10/22...it is kinda worn out on the outside..

Scopes come in different powers(zoom)...guys that hunt with big guns usally have a 3 X 9 scope...these give you a advantage for looking far away(works the same way as Binoculars that zoom)..

On .22s a good all around scope is a 4X...can't zoom it but really clears up a sight picture..
That is what is on my 10/22..... :D
My .22 mag has a 3 X 9 on it, it has a greater shooting range so it is useful...
if you are shooting more than 100 yards with .22.. you will probally not be as accurate..(I know that guys shoot much farther than that and can take a fly off a table) so that is just a general thing on 100 yard shots... ;)
So 4X is a pretty normal thing on .22s...

If i am not correct somewhere on this.. please feel free to correct my post guys ;)

Found this on Calelas...
It has good reviews, if i break the scope on mine somehow.. i will probally get one of these( nice price too) :)

Hope this helped 8)

http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/t...ptics_general&cm_ite=scopes&_requestid=114603

·
Registered
579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
It's a Savage Model 62. Bought it for $70.00 Like Brand New

·
Registered
212 Posts