Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hoping there are some Taurus pro's out there to give some guidance. I have a PT99, 1990 vintage that is hitting extremely low and right. The right isn't anything alarning but the low is about 18 inches low at 10 yards. Is it possible that the locking block can be worn enough to cause this? It's fairly loose in the barrel lug- but I have zero experience in locking block issues- anyone had this kind of problem?

·
Registered
3,652 Posts
How long have you owned the gun? Did it shot low when you took possession? How many rounds have you put through it? When I first got my 92 I shot low & right shooting right handed but was pretty much on target shooting left handed. I could one hole it when shooting from sand bags. Prior to my 92, most of my experience was with double action handguns. I had to relearn on the 92. The chart below helped a bunch as did snap caps to learn my new trigger.
TargetGuide.jpg

Reactions: taurustoter

·
Registered
14,099 Posts
Don't fret over it, the PT92 line of pistols is probably the most often the greatest model for brain busting, eye adjusting, can't aim it, shoots low and left, shoots high and right or any combination there of.

You just received some great information in the first reply to your question. I'll add to that, don't get frustrated, take your time to learn the weapon and adjust your shooting habits....cause I guarantee that the 92 will not adjust to yours. There is nothing wrong with safely setting down the weapon and stepping back to clear your mind. Once you do learn it's habits, sights, and abilities you will fall in love with your PT-92.

Congratulations on your choice.

·
Registered
8,801 Posts
Presume you've adjust rear sight for elevation and windage. I'd shoot from solid rest and see how it goes. Doubt problem is locking block, but you could always order one to see if that resolves problem and keep as spare if not.