Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I just took my new PT740 slim to the range but didn't have the Pearce extensions. Are these a must have and do they substantially improve the ability to get ahold of the gun? It is my first time with a. 40 caliber, but I couldn't hit hardly anything. Not sure if it was just me or me and the gun. Perhaps I just need a little practice with it, but so far I'm not real happy. The reports of this guy beating your hands up is definitely true too. I have smaller sized hands so it felt pretty good in my hands when I bought it.

Any suggestions guys? Any experience with the PT840? I'm wondering if the larger magazine will make the grip wider and easier to hold onto.

Thanks.

· Registered
8,812 Posts
Mag extension aren't required, but they do help control IMO. If you couldn't hit anything (please take no offense) I'll almost guarantee it wasn't the 740. Get some more practice with it, use the pad of the finger, not the knuckle joint - and hold on tight cause that rascal will beat your hand up otherwise. LOL I actually shoot my 740 better than the 709. I don't know anything of the PT840, but would recommend the PT140MilPro G1 or new G2 - lots more meat in the grip area with double stack mag. For CC I don't believe you can beat the Slims for ease of concealment - the MilPro's are close, but not there, at least for me - the thickness and grip length of 740 vs 140 is surprising that so little difference means so much, particularly the 3/16" less width.

· Registered
125 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I have no doubts believing its me at all, but wasnt sure if maybe I just have the wrong gun or not. Maybe I need to do some shopping around.

· Registered
8,812 Posts