Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have only fired 30 rounds through my factory new PT145. The third round in the first 10 had a miss-feed and jammed the slide. Then the fifth round jammed in the second magazine. The third magazine fired all 10. Should I be worried or just keep shooting and see what happens? I really like the gun and want it to be reliable.

·
Registered
29 Posts
Chris, I'm not an expert but I have the same gun you do. I've had mine about a month and it's been very reliable except when shooting CCI brand FMJ with the brass cases. You may want to give another ammo type a try and see if that helps you out. Also make sure your gun is cleaned well and lightly lubricated, there was an excessive amount of grease in mine when I first got it.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I thought I was firing Winchester .45 ACP through the new PT145 but it turns out I was shooting CCI Blazer Brass in it. I have some Remington ACP that I will try next time. I think the CCI is pretty cheap. I know that
the shells can make a big difference in feed jams. :D

·
Registered
29 Posts
CCI Brass was the stuff that gave me a little problem. I've had good luck with Magtech and Independence FMJ. I just shot a box of Winchester JHP the other day with no problems. I've got about 600-650 rounds thru the gun now and have had only 2 FTFs with the CCI as I said.

·
Registered
139 Posts
I broke mine down and wiped a lot of excess grease from mine before I ever shot it. New guns that are over lubed will lock up. Try that and also try switching ammo as suggested. I have put 200 rounds of Monarchs without a hitch. They are cheap...$16 at Academy.

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Finally had a chance to go shooting. I fired 60 rounds through the PT145 and had one jam. That is a total of 90+ rounds through the gun. It is getting better so I will not complain unless it jams after 300 rounds.