Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok… I made it to the range and was able to fire one of our new PT111’s. I’ll start this range test/review by stating that I have never done a pistol test before and may have made a few mistakes. With that said, please be gentle with any critique! ;D I shot on a 7 meter range and did all shooting offhand with no rest. The day was cold about 45-47 degrees and the wind was not a factor. I have included photos of all my findings.

What I took to the range:
One of our new PT111’s
5 types of ammo.

see image 1

Ammo used:
Winchester Target 115 FMJ
Blazer Brass 115 FMJ
America Eagle 115 FMJ
Winchester Ranger 115 JHP
Hornady TAP 147 JHP

see image 2

The TEST:
I started the test by shooting two 50 round groups to semi-break the pistol in. I wanted to get a feel for the weapon and how it would shoot. The first 50 rounds I shoot as fast as I could load the mags. (Having 4 of them made that a little easier). The second 50 rounds I took more time and aimed a bit more. You can see the results in the photos. I was very impressed with pistol right out of the box. The pistol fired all 100 break-in rounds with out a single FTF.

se image 4 ( second 50 rounds)

Ammo #1 Winchester Target 115 FMJ
10 rounds offhand – zero FTF

Ammo #2 Blazer Brass 115 FMJ

Ammo #3 America Eagle 115 FMJ

Ammo #4 Winchester Ranger 115 JHP See image 5

Ammo #5 Hornady TAP 147 JHP
5 rounds offhand – zero FTF

All target photos are on the Range report Gallery!

Well as you can see from the photos above… I’m not the best shot in the world, but the pistol performed flawlessly. After my 10 round test groups, I shoot 40 more of each of the Blazer and American Eagle rounds. I then shoot 75 more Winchester Target ammo. That gave me a total of 300 rounds out of the new PT111 with ZERO FTF.