Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I just got a PT111 G2 and was cleaning up the factory lube in the striker channel, but wanted to clean up some other areas, too. I studied the schematic and figured out how to remove the extractor and striker block. It's really not that difficult. This would also apply to the PT140 G2. If anyone is interested on how to do this, I can post some photos or maybe put together a video.

·
Registered
187 Posts
The G2 comes apart the same as the PT709, so you can just go to youtube and find several video's.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The G2 striker comes out the same as the PT709, but not the extractor. The PT111 G2 does not have an extractor pin that protrudes from the rear of the slide like the PT709 - it's totally different.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts
I just got a PT111 G2 and was cleaning up the factory lube in the striker channel, but wanted to clean up some other areas, too. I studied the schematic and figured out how to remove the extractor and striker block. It's really not that difficult. This would also apply to the PT140 G2. If anyone is interested on how to do this, I can post some photos or maybe put together a video.
A video would be great. Thanks for offering.

·
Registered
215 Posts
Discussion Starter #5 (Edited)
It might be a few days before I can put a video together, so I will post a few pics for now.
The secret to removing the extractor and striker block is this piece, which Taurus calls the "extractor axle". I call it the "extractor retainer". It is a spring loaded part that holds the extractor in place:
DSC_5779-2.jpg
First, remove the striker assembly. It comes out just like a Glock striker. With a punch or small screwdriver, Push the firing pin sleeve down towards the striker channel. That frees it up from the rear slide cap. While holding it down, slide the rear slide cap off:
DSC_5778-1.jpg
DSC_5780.jpg