Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
654 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll probably sound like a total novice idiot here, but I wanted to know what you guys use for a proper pistol cleaning. In the military we had armorers for such tasks and in the desert we used rifles, however I can't remember what kind of oils, solvents etc. brands that were used. I assume not the best...due to budgets and such. I know HOW to clean, but just wasn't sure what is best for the polymer variety. Thank you ahead of time as always.

·
Registered
3,878 Posts
There are so many choices out there that it just comes down to personal preference. I use hoppes no.9 and remoil.

I have been thinking about making a batch of ed's red. I have heard a lot of good things about it. And it may cost more at first, but it will last you longer.

Creek

Reactions: HornedFroggerTCU

·
Registered
6,851 Posts
Im old school when it comes to cleaners, so i also use hopppes 9 and rem oil, but they make some nice sprays that clean lube and protect all at one time, they usually also are a dry lube.

One thing i consider when choosing what to buy, can i get replacements for it easily, i.e. do i go 10 minutes to my local gun shops, or walmart, or do i have to drive 30-45 to get to a gander, academy, bass pro, or other specialty stores.

·
Registered
2,513 Posts
Previously I used Hoppes solvent, oil, and grease. But about a year ago I switched to FrogLube and I cannot believe the difference!

After the first few cleanings with the FL, to remove all remnants of petroleum based cleaners and oils, the weapon comes clean with almost no effort. I use a heat gun to warm the parts and allow the FL to penetrate into the metal and then add a little extra to the slide rails for additional lube.

And it smells minty, so I don't get yelled at for stinking up the kitchen!

·
Registered
24,536 Posts
Hoppes #9 and a Bore Snake.

·
Registered
1,420 Posts