Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
90 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Anyone have any experience with 9mm PPU ammo? I just picked up 4 boxes 115 gr fmjs (the only ammo I can find lately) and wont have the opportunity to get to the range until the weekend.

I understand it is Serbian made? Just looking for a heads up to know what to expect and look for.

Thanks!

·
Registered
2,195 Posts
new one on me, but then i'm new to guns. :confused: ..............i would have to think twice about getting anything that was called pu. ;)

·
Premium Member
17,735 Posts
It's fine, they make Academy Sports Monarch house brand ammo. I've shot enough of it to be comfortable with it. Some say it smells like burning armpit hair but I never noticed that. But then again I shoot outdoors.

Prvi Partizan Ammunition

·
Registered
5,933 Posts
Yeah, my experience is it's the brass cased Prvi Partizan (Serbian) ammo - I bought a bunch at WalMart a while back.
Shoots fine, never had any issues, didn't seem "dirty". The Monarch steel cased stuff is what I feel is the "stinky" stuff.
Still shoots fine, just... odiferous.

·
Registered
6,011 Posts
I've shot quite a bit of Privi Partisan, and they are one of the few ammo manufactures in the world that make the harder to find military rifle calibers of WW I & II. I'd sure take it over Winchester White Box, good ammo, but some say it stinks when shot! Wonder who came up with that burning armpit hair description??? :rolleyes: Anyhow, it is actually the mainstay of my .357 Mag ammo larder, as it is the most reasonable .357 158 grain semi-jacketed hollow-point there is, and you can't get the 158 grain in UMC or Winchester White box.

Like Davy Jones once sang, "I'm a believer!" For folks who are in a time of not being able to be just real picky, it's a lot better than a lot of ammo out there and it is brass, so it can be reloaded.

Reactions: olfarhors

·
Registered
12 Posts