Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to reloading and so far only have some trail boss powder. I am running out of primers so I will be placing a order for powder as well. I am using 125gn plated berrys bullets and 125g lead tcfpbb. Will be loading 9mm and .380 in the future so I was going to keep that in mind for my selection. Any load recommendation for said powders is welcome and appreciated. Was thinging of picking up some alliant bullseye , unique, hodgdon hp-38, tite group, cfe pistol and h110 or alliant 2400 for hotter loads in the future. With the 125gn they will be light loads for practice.

So far from what I have read bullseye in .38/357 starting at 2.8 gns is a nice load for light recoil and practice from what I have gathered.

thanks in advance

·
Registered
6,735 Posts
I like Unique and 2400, H110 is great for full power loads, but you are not supposed to reduce it below the starting loads (which are pretty hot)

Reactions: Yissnakk

·
Super Moderator
35,452 Posts
Unique will load warm .357 and hotish .38 special. It works in either. Lots of similar powders like Universal Clays. Be careful with Bullseye. Loads take up very little of the case, are hard to detect light loads and you could easily dump a catastrophic double charge and not realize it. Bullseye is for light loads and I don't use it in .357, just .38 special.

·
Registered
4,743 Posts
What NT said about Bullseye and any other fast burning powder (like red dot). If you are loading those pistol rounds, see if you can find Alliant BE-86 - so far it seems to be a great versatile powder than can be used and performs well in every handgun I own. To specify, I have all three calibers you mentioned...plus a few more....:)

·
Administrator
35,627 Posts