Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
583 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am new to reloading and have tried the common ways to prevent powder from sticking due to static when charging. Tried cleaning with dish soap and air drying. Tried cleaning with alcohol. Have yet to try the dry sheet method. Have a partially used dryer sheet and a whole box of next dryer sheets. Should I try using a new sheet ok not all the surfaces That touch powder? Or should I try a used sheet?

Sent a email to hodgdon but have yet to get a reply about new vs used and the effect on powder ifnsome of the softner rubs off on the powder.

Thanks in advance

·
Super Moderator
37,585 Posts
I think that there's enough residual material in the used sheet to solve your problem without putting anything in the powder. Those things are also great if you tumble with a dry media like walnut or corn cob. One used sheet cut into strips will collect the carbon and crud to keep your media cleaner and last longer.

·
Registered
4,481 Posts
There might be a slight electrical charge in the powder that causes it to cling to objects that have a different charge. Try sticking a finger first into the powder and then grab your reloading equipment/brass to equalize the charge. It's important to touch the powder first; if there is a static charge present, touching it second might cause a spark. That could have unfortunate consequences.

·
Super Moderator
17,735 Posts
Dryer sheets work for me, I store one in the hopper when not in use. Another possible solution is to get the humidity up in the room to 60%. Dry air exacerbates static electricity.

·
Premium Member
16,955 Posts
I think that there's enough residual material in the used sheet to solve your problem without putting anything in the powder. Those things are also great if you tumble with a dry media like walnut or corn cob. One used sheet cut into strips will collect the carbon and crud to keep your media cleaner and last longer.