Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
8,324 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I have been drooling over M1 carbines for several years, but never came across one I could afford. I was focusing on IBM branded , but at a min of $1400 just not for me at this point. Was visiting my fav LGS Monday to pick up some 2400 magnum powder, and there it was.
P1030935bb.jpg

This is a Plainfield Machine Company M1 made around 1966-67. From what I have read Plainfield rifles are above average for commercial M1's. They made their own receiver and used USGI parts to finish the build. So all parts are interchangeable with GI carbines. This one was part of the KCPD arsenal in the early 70's according the previous owner. A crusty old fart just like me, he had to sell as he was going into assisted living. He used as a Deer rifle and had a huge 3X9X42mm scope on it. Man your cheek weld is on top of the butt pad.
P1030939bb.jpg

I have done a complete tear down/clean/lube and put my TRS25 on it for now.

P1030938bb.jpg

This carbine had leading in the barrel, otherwise still shiny and good lands/grooves. The gas piston was stuck, just took cleaning around the bottom of the gas piston housing, then a few taps on the housing with a mallet got it moving, followed that up with spray cleaners and compressed air. Now the piston is perfect. Bolt was a dirty mess, but all cleaned up nicely.