Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Anyone have any suggestions for a good bullet to use for reloads for a judge? I've heard that the taurus has issues with leading and I'm wondering of i should avoid lead and go for a coated bullet? (sorry for any poor terminology- new to handgun reloading).

·
Registered
124 Posts
I can't speak specifically about the Judge but I have had a lot of experience with leading. I currently load cast lead for a PT1911 9mm, a Springfield EMP 9mm, a GI .45, and a few other handguns, none of which lead. That doesn't mean they didn't when I started shooting them. Fortunately leading is usually easy to fix. Notice I said "usually".

The most common cause of leading is using a cast bullet that is too small for the barrel. The first step is determining the inside diameter of your barrel. That's done by driving a soft lead slug through the barrell and then measuring it with a micrometer. I usually do a couple. Start by getting some soft lead slugs that are slightly larger than the bore. I use egg fishing sinkers and file them a little if necessary to a diameter a few thousandths of an inch larger than the anticipated bore diameter. For example, a 9mm should be 0.355". They seldom are. My Taurus mikes at 0.3570 and the EMP at 0.3545 and I used a slug that was about 0.360. Select a bullet that is 1 to 2 thousandths larger and you should be good to go. I size at 0.356 in the EMP and 0.358 for the Taurus.

When driving the slug through the barrel I use a piece of the largest dowel rod that will slide into the barrel, cut about 1 1/2" longer than the barrel, and drive it with a plastic mallet. Easier on the barrel if I miss.

Yeah, it's kind of a pain to do it but you only have to do it once.

·
Super Moderator
17,624 Posts