Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Administrator
35,733 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This may have been asked before.....is there any way for a regular civilian with no ties to law enforcement to get my hands on +P+ ammo like Winchester Ranger? One of my gun mags seemed to intimate that there might be a way to get some, but didn't elaborate. What are the liability concerns if I had to use this ammo to defend yourself? Would the fact that civilians aren't supposed to have this ammo come into play? Thanks for any help you can lend !! ;D

·
Registered
3,737 Posts
You can buy it and use it as a civilian. However, I would check with the gun's owner's manual to make sure the gun will handle it.

·
Registered
1,376 Posts
I'm no expert, but I did stay at a Holiday Inn Express once. The way I figure it, if I can buy it a gun shop, it's legal for me to use for self defense. If I have to jump through hoops to get it, I'm not going to use it. My opinion is that a decent prosecutor would be all over that.

Just my 2¢

·
Registered
6,761 Posts
If you wander around online some sites have it listed for sale. But yes, check to see if your gun will handle it. I know that I wouldn't be comfortable using it in a smaller auto like my subcompact XD, a mini-Glock or a Mill Pro. Or to put it another way, anything that the company hasn't put out in 357 Sig (I'm assuming we're discussing 9mm +P+ here).

The real hot stuff tends to accelerate wear on the gun. Departments have a budget for that sort of thing, you just have your job. And anymore, there are some very good loads that are only +P. I know that the hot Corbon ammo gets equal to higher velocities with their +P stuff as other companies +P+ loads (in the same bullet weight). And Buffalo Bore's stuff seems to be higher yet.

Steelheart

·
Registered
3,737 Posts
I personally do not shoot even just the +p ammo. I think there is enough good "regular strength" ammo on the market to fit my needs.

·
Registered
6,000 Posts