Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, I'm new to the 1911 style pistol. (The nearest I've come was a Llama .380 way back in the '70s, which I loved and wish I still had). My question is: How does the Taurus 1911 compare to other 1911s out there for dependablity and real world firing. I will pick mine up after Christmas and can hardly wait. I can only go by the rental range guns I've shot (Colt 1911). Mine will be occassional ccw and mostly a range or field gun when I want a change from my .357 Tracker.

·
Registered
1,039 Posts
I own two of the Taurus PT1911's in blue and will picking up my 3rd one this weekend in Stainless Steel. I love them, they are will made and very accurate. They are every bit as good as a high $$$ dollar 1911 (Kimber, etc...) just for less money. The only downside I have really heard from anyone is that the powder coat-like finish isn't as nice as a blued 1911, but for a few bucks you can have a smithy blue it for you. I personally like th ruggedness of the finish for field use and everyday carry.

You can not go wrong buying a PT1911... hope I was helpful and maybe "Made your day" (love your Clint Eastwood sig hehehe.

·
Registered
267 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
DRAEGER,
Thanks for the info on the 1911. I really appreciate another shooters opinion. I will pick mine up after Christmas, since my kids think they need some presents. I have not shot a Taurus 1911 yet, but have rented a couple different 1911 brands at the local range and was surprised how well I could shoot one. I got rid of two different .40s because I got more of a pattern than a group with them. Just don't care for the caliber. I have a couple of other Taurus pistols & revolvers, so "needed" a 1911. Everyone ought to have at least one. I do like the look and feel of the PT1911 better than some I checked out and the price is really good.

·
Registered
276 Posts