Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
80 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been considering getting four additional weapons, and I'd like some opinions as to my overall plan and my current intended purchases.

I've been making do with one handgun and and one rifle for many years. The handgun has now been updated to a PT-140 Mil-Pro (2009, but just purchased), and I still have a Marllin 39A .22LR that I inherited. Of course, the 39A has its place, but it is not a good option for stopping people. So I want to enlarge my collection to include some specific purpose weapons. My plans are:

1. Home-defense 12 guage: Nothing specific yet, but a pump or semi-auto. Not going to spend a lot here. Big names and bells and whistles don't matter. I want it to reliably go BANG when I pull the trigger, and without blowing up in my hands.
  2. A higher capacity (hopefully, the capacity option will stay that way) carbine. I was thinking maybe a new generation Mini-30. I've heard that the accuracy issues have been mitigated in the latest gen., especially with some sensible modifications that'll stablize it. Criteria: Reliable, magazine fed, around .308/7.62ish caliber, and somewhat subdued in style. I don't want the nuts calling it an assault rifle, but I want it to fill a similar space. I live where we had three hurricanes hit in 2004 & 2005 (in the eye of all three), and I want to be ready if people ever do a N.O./Katrina type of thing.
  3. A Remington 700. I'm thinking this for its distance, reliability (great reputation), and it's a good caliber for deer and such. Bonus... Two weapons that share the same caliber round.
  4. A .357, probably a 627 Tracker... It has all the components I want. Barrel (6"+/-), frame, porting, etc. Good price point too. Plus it's a Taurus, and I really like my PT-140.

Thanks for any suggestions you might have!!!

Kevin

·
Premium Member
16,955 Posts