Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just signed up last night to take an Ohio CCW course next Sunday with my PT 709. I've already read the Ohio CC laws pdf online however, as I'm new to pistol shooting and a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to shooting what can I expect in regards to the shooting portion of the course? I can easily hit a paper plate at 7 yards just can't hold the tightest group, should I be concerned? I'm going to the range the Friday before to make sure everything is where it needs to be and hopefully build my confidence a little. Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
43 Posts
I can't speak for all the courses, but in mine we practiced and trained for a while, then did the qualifying. Five shots on the paper plate did the job. We then finished the range session with some further self defense type training. Good luck!!

·
Premium Member
15,931 Posts
Most of these state courses, they want to know if you operate the gun safely, within handling guidelines. They do not expect marksman type shooting. In KY 11 out of 20 center mass of a B27 target is required, at 21 feet. You can shoot up to 50 rds, but the qual is only 20 rds.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thank everyone, I'm fairly new to pistol shooting so I'm sure my inaccuracy is due to not being completely familiar however, with a few hundred rounds I plan to correct those issues. I'll keep you posted.

·
Registered
128 Posts