Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone

I just traded my S&W Sigma .40 for my new to me gently used pt1911 yesterday. I am happy with the deal I still have yet to shoot the 1911. I just need some ammo and a few minutes to get to the range. It will be this weekend before I can get it done. I am new to the Taurus line and new to 1911's so I will be reading here a lot and asking questions. Some of you may know me from other forums.

Those that know me know that I can't leave things the way they are. I like to improve things not make them unsafe or unreliable. I am going to leave my new 1911 alone (for now). I will get some rounds down range and get fimiliar with it before I go doing thing I shouldn't.

However, I would like to know if there are parts worth keeping on hand? Are there any parts that I should go ahead and replace now before it breaks? Are there some upgrades I should be looking at doing?

What I am going to do in the near future is replace the hammer I like the Wilson spec ops 9 hammer over the factory round nub. While I'm there I might as well change and match the sear. I'd also like to get a touch of the slop out of the trigger. I'm sure there are other things but I am still learning the parts and what they do in the 1911.

In the end I want a crisp breaking trigger in the 4-4.5# range and the reliablity of a duty gun. I am not looking to make this a comp or race gun that is not safe to carry.

Thanks in advance for your advice.

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
Welcome to the forum...I'm sure some of the local experts will come along and tell you the parts they have on hand.
The Taurus PT1911 is an awesome 1911 for the money. I don't think you'll be disappointed.

·
Registered
21,504 Posts
Welcome from the Alamo!

Post often!

·
Registered
37,059 Posts
Welcome to the forum!
I always suggest that any 1911 owner have an extra extractor and recoil spring.