Taurus Firearm Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone I just got a model 605, I'm new to the revolver seen, and was wondering what defense ammo everyone uses, and does anyone have any experience with hornady cd 357 loads. I have seen lots of bad comments on YouTube looking for lots of good advice.

·
Registered
32,089 Posts
While you can shoot .357 mag in the 605, I'm going to suggest you just buy one box of .357 mag at first, and nearly any quality hollow point will get the job done. In a 22 ounce revolver with a 2" barrel, it will not be fun to shoot. If you are a recoil junky and can hit with it, then ignore me.

I'm not a recoil junky and do not enjoy shooting full magnum loads in my bigger framed 4" barrel Mod 66 S & W.

I just keep a good name brand +P 130 grain hollow point load in mine and toy with ordering some +P+ hollow points.

The beautiful thing about the 605 is you can shoot a wide range of loads from mild to wild.

As to what you will want to shoot, you really need to shoot different power loads and bullet weights to decide what you are most comfortable with.

Were it me, I would shoot a 158 grain standard load .38 special in that revolver in any premium hollow point, but you aren't me.

Reactions: JerryMac

·
Registered
37 Posts
I LOOOOOVE the hydra shok 158 grain hollow point. It'll take the bad guy down and everyone in the room behind him though. Good solid round, packs a wallop!!

·
Registered
32,089 Posts

·
Registered
54 Posts
Thanks for that link Jake.

I have my 605 loaded with Corbon 125 grain JHP +P+ .38 Specials. I have pumped quite a few magnums through mine, but I get follow up shots on target faster with the +P+. At 1250 fps the CorBon +P+ are still quite a handful in a snub.

·
Registered
7,241 Posts