Taurus Firearm Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
OK All, I am new to the TCP. I have done some searches and saw some of the feeding issues others are having. But my feeding issue is a little different.

The slide seems to lock back almost always with 1 round still left in the mag. It happens about 80% of the time. Ran about 100 rounds today - brand new.

I saw some of the issues were feeding issues on most rounds in the mag. Mine is always a locked slide with only a single round left.

Any ideas??

Thanks in advance.

Josh

·
Registered
1,464 Posts
First off, Welcome to the Forum!
Now, is this happening with only one mag, or multiples? There is an enhancement sticky on this 700's board that has great pics and how-to do enhancements.
i would check out the mag closely to see if it has any extra plastic that is catching where it shouldn't...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey BMC, thanks for the welcome, and the reply. The gun only came with a single mag but a buddy also has a TCP and used his mags. Same thing. So it appears that the problem is with the gun. I just wanted to see if anyone else experienced the same issue.

The other strange thing about the failure is that the mag comes out freely - meaning the round is not jammed into the feed ramp. So the slide is actually locked back.

Any idea??

·
Registered
295 Posts
Are you using Winchester white box ammo? Switch to other brand. When new my TCP,s did not like winchester ammo. I reload now so my two TCP,s work fine with any ammo so far.

·
Registered
49 Posts
If you are firing a round nose bullet, try something with a "narrower shape". I cast/reload a 102 gr round nose that gives me that problem. It doesn't happen with any other ammo. Good luck!

·
Premium Member
17,735 Posts